Router help!

destroyer86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By destroyer86

I have a 2Wire 3800HGV and my wireless has been really up & down lately so I used a ethernet cable (worked perfect on my 360, PS3, etc) for the first day the, "local ethernet" light was solid green, then the day after that, it started blinking green really fast (and has been doing so since (about 2 weeks)) and now I can't even stay connected to the internet for more than 5 minutes... I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff, so if someone could help me, and do it in the most simple way, I would greatly appropriate it!! :)

destroyer86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By destroyer86

Also! I've tried restarting it, and a hard reboot!!

Avatar image for equitasinvictus
EquitasInvictus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

Flashing green might mean it's actually getting good traffic or it's stuck at attempting to connect to the internet due to some of the settings. These kinds of things vary based on router but flashing green shouldn't be anything too bad as far as I know.

Do you know how to access the router configuration on an internet browser (apparently 192.168.1.254 by default) ? Also, do you know what type of connection your ISP uses?

destroyer86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I don't.. But I know we have U-verse !

JJWeatherman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 18

It's rare, but once or twice I've had to get a pin and hit the full reset button on one of my routers to fix some issues. Maybe try that.

Other than that, maybe try to get off of U-Verse. From what I'm reading on Amazon, that router seems like crap, but it also seems like it's required, as it pulls double duty and serves as your modem. If you must stay on U-Verse, I'd at least call and try to get a new one.

Nivash

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By Nivash