• 80 results
#1 Posted by MrRedwine (428 posts) -

I have been a teacher for about 4 years in the high school and middle school.  I often talk about playing games with my students because it helps build up a familiar relationship where we can identify with each other and are better able to communicate.  The problem is that several of my students want to be my friends on XBL and I'm not sure what to do about it.  I honestly don't play a lot of online shooters or anything, so I wouldn't even end up playing with them a lot, but they would be able to see what games I am playing and things like that.

The few times I have tried to be friends with students online it has been awkward.  I have tried to make sure they aren't in my class anymore and that kind of thing, but it is still just kind of weird.

Anyone have any opinions on this subject?

#2 Posted by Dr_Feelgood38 (1550 posts) -

Why couldn't you have been one of my teachers? :(

I think it would be a great idea to get that sort of relationship with your students (as long as it doesn't effect how lenient you are). I would say go for it.

#3 Edited by SuperSecretAgenda (696 posts) -

No. Don't. Seriously, don't do it.

You're supposed to be a guide to the student, not their chum (Although, there's nothing wrong with being friendly with a student)

When you actually hang out with the student, it blurs the line between guide and chum. And imagine your student bringing up that 'sweet headshot' you made in Call of Duty last night around others. Awkward?

Of course, what the hell do I know, I'm not a teacher.

#4 Posted by Baillie (3955 posts) -

I used to have a teacher in my school on XBL. I can see how it is a bit daunting, but if you just treat them like you would any of your other XBL friends, I can't see the big problem. :)

#5 Posted by bjorno (1409 posts) -

creepy shit, cant you just stick to hitting on the hot chicks???

#6 Posted by Bigandtasty (3202 posts) -