#1 Posted by MrPilkington (722 posts) -

So I started playing X-Com: Enemy Unknown and was loving it, but after a few missions, it really took a turn for the worse for me as I lost everything and got a game over. I play a lot of RPG's but even though I have enjoyed some strategy games in the past, I haven't ever finished one (that I remember) and I want to keep playing this one. Should I feel terrible about putting it on easy or should I continue with normal?

#2 Posted by Kidavenger (3487 posts) -

You just need to be careful until some of your troops get leveled up, once you get a full level squad the game gets pretty easy if you aren't rushing, I think easy would be really boring.

#3 Posted by MariachiMacabre (7039 posts) -

No shame in it. It gets extremely difficult rather quickly and, if you're inexperienced with the genre, you'll get overwhelmed pretty quickly in the Overworld aspect.

#4 Posted by Kevin_Cogneto (991 posts) -

Easy is no cakewalk either, especially if you're not save scumming, which it sounds like you're not. Switch to easy, there's no shame in it.

#5 Posted by devilzrule27 (1239 posts) -

I do and I still have a bunch of fun. Then again I play most games on easy mostly because I don't have the time or patience to get good enough at games to beat them on higher difficulties. Wasn't always like that but nowadays I just play games to get through the games story as easily and as satisfyingly as possible. Dying over and over normally just frustrates me which is simply the opposite of what I want from games now.

#6 Posted by I_Stay_Puft (2955 posts) -

No.

#7 Edited by TheManWithNoPlan (5138 posts) -

I'm currently playing through Xcom EU again, but on easy this time. I'm having a much better time than on normal and the challenge is definitely still there. If your having too hard a time, then there's no shame in lowering the game to easy. You'll still have an enjoyable experience.