#1 Posted by YouMakeKittyMad (31 posts) -

dear bombers,

i've come to a bit of an awkward place. i'm a 29 year old college graduate (BA - Philosophy) from new york city who has been working as a professional dancer for the last ~8 years since graduating. i love my career. i'm working pretty constantly and hope to keep doing so for another couple of years at least, but there will come a time in the not-too-distant future when i'll have to move on from being a performer to a new career and a new path. i have no desire to choreograph, and, while i love teaching, it's not something i wish to pursue as a career. with that in mind, for the last few years, between gigs that have me traveling abroad, i've been building up my skills in other areas. i work as a dance photographer and have been working my way into doing more studio and product photography. i intern, when i can, with a small graphic design firm using the skills in photoshop, illustrator, indesign, and lightroom that i've picked up through my photography. during that internship i've started learning html/css coding so as to better understand the technical aspects of web design, and am continuing that learning process on my own. i feel confident that with more work, both on my own and collaborating with other artists i know, i'll be able to move on into any number of design-based fields when the time comes for me to move on.

and that's great.