Posted by VincentAvatar (69 posts) -

I have bought a lot of video games; what I haven’t done is beat a lot of video games. For whatever reason, I’ve decided to go back and give some of these games another shot: this is the Backlog.

This Week’s Game: Gears of War 3

I have a soft spot for the bombastic, brotastic lore of Gears of War, which makes it pretty odd that I have yet to beat the final entry in the Bender Bending Rodriguez trilogy (I also have a soft spot for John DiMaggio). So in the hopes of continuing this blog feature beyond one week, I called up my brother and we dove back into the co-op campaign in the hopes of exorcising another of my backlog demons.

The first thing that surprised me about GoW 3 was how colorful it was. For whatever reason, I was expecting a lot of browns and greys; I seem to recall the original Gears of War being accused of setting that generation’s color palate on the dusty side of brown. Gears of War 3 was full of sunlight and color in a way that Gears of War 2 wanted to be but did not achieve. That said, it was still definitely a Unreal Engine game, so Jake the Dog and company all looked like they regularly bathed in butter.

The gameplay is immensely satisfying, the guns all have a powerful feel to them, and the cover system had, at this point, been refined into its purest form. This game is a lot of fun, especially with a co-op partner, but that is likely the reason that I stopped playing it in the first place; it is sometimes difficult for my brother and I to coordinate our schedules these days. That’s a shame, because the game is great and I would have liked to spend time with it back when it was new and the multiplayer was extant. I can definitely see myself going back to this game and finishing it off fairly soon.

An Update on The Last of Us