The industry's perception of gamers

shinjin977

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So over the last couple of days I have heard a lot of people in the industry come out and say really disrespectful shit about the so call "Core-Gamers". The leading insults seems to be "oh they can like something all they want but at the end of the day they don't matter". I don't personally think this is true but lets not get stuck on that. Why the hell are try treating their own leading/first adopters/die-hard fans as this negligible sections of the audience? Are people in the industry so full of themselves as to say "fuck you if your not happy go somewhere else"?

I work in the industry as well but this type of dialogue towards our own customers is utterly disappointing, what the hell is going on in this industry. Is it hubris? Being defensive? I can not fathom. What do you think Bombers?

breadfan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 12

I think it's because big gaming companies know the customer will always come back to them. The video game community is incredibly vocal about certain matters and eventually folds in on itself. EA at E3 was a perfect example of this. Just a few weeks ago the hatred being spewed at EA was super harsh, but that all immediately changed when they announced a new Star Wars Battlefront and a new Mirrors Edge. People really need to put their money where their mouths are if they want the industry to take them seriously.

Avatar image for video_game_king
Video_Game_King

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 54

User Lists: 14

Avatar image for deactivated-5f9398c1300c7
deactivated-5f9398c1300c7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2