Posted by Cretaceous_Bob (505 posts) -

[][][][]][][][][][[][]

#1 Posted by Cretaceous_Bob (505 posts) -

When it isn't being wholly exploitative and tabloidian, it speaks with the egocentric voice of the adolescent writer. Its skills haven't reached maturity and it doesn't have much of importance to say, but it is so convinced of the reverse that it seizes upon whatever is easily at hand to broadly decry some part of the games industry as woefully inadequate, giving itself an excuse to be a grandiose call to action. In an unpleasantly ironic twist, the writer who bemoans the state of games journalism ends up sounding like a 15 year old writing about politics or government.

I don't blame anyone for trying to find a more ennobled voice for this avenue of journalism; as a writer myself, I empathize with their desire to truly say something. But I am a reader, not a recreational empathizer, and this self-important grandstanding is as grating as the click-mongers. I have floated around gaming news sites, but I cannot find anywhere that does not do at least one of the two. 1UP, Kotaku, Joystiq, The Penny Arcade Report, IGN, GameSpot, any site I can think of does one of these two things. Of the two, there is, of course, a clear choice.

Kotaku's lack of ethics and integrity coupled with their zealous quest for The Headlines People Will Click On made me uneasy, but they were a fast news aggregator, so I tried to ignore the former to just get the actual gaming news, which is all I ever really want. But then they spent a month constantly reporting on -- complete with large pictures of -- the shitbag Arizona shooter from last year. They exploited a tragic event for ad dollars, and at the price of contributing to a murderer's immortality. I haven't been back.