Edited 1 year, 1 month ago

Poll: What is your level of Copyright Knowledge? (93 votes)

I am a Copyright Lawyer. 4%
I am a Lawyer with some working knowledge on Copyright. 3%
I took a course in law and copyright was a big deal. 9%
I am self taught Copyright law hobbyist. 4%
My college courses dabbled in copyright law. 8%
I am interested in Copyright law and picked up some things. 18%
I am NOT interested in Copyright law however I picked up a little. 24%
I don't know much about Copyright law. 22%
I don't know about Copyright law and do not want to know about copyright law. 3%
I cant tell what iss against Copyright law the internet has ruined me. 5%

I keep seeing people talk about stuff that is completely against copyright. I am not a Copyright lawyer just a guy thats interested in it and have picked up a lot over the years so much so I gave a presentation in my Media college course with no problems, and my lecturer warned me it was one of the harder topics to pick.

Right the be blunt about why I would like to know, the discussion about a design for Ryan's memorial T shirt often comes up with a very strong following for the Olly Moss picture of Ryan riding Koffing the Pokemon. A few people even look like they would not budge on buying a memorial T shirt unless it is the Olly Moss design.

It is a wonder idea and would look super awesome.

Except for the really horrible fact of the world that art is partly the property of Nintendo as it depicts a character from one of their Copyrighted properties. Koffing from Pokemon. It is only because of past copyright legal wars that Olly Moss can produce such a work without fear of Nintendo cracking down on him.

The real problem comes is if he sold it or licensed others to print and sell it.

So if he and GB crew ignored Copyright law, got together and decided to make the T-shirt....they couldn't since most definitely CBSi lawyers will tell him flat out no. CBSi would be liable and could be sued.