What's the average size roster for a fighting game?

manicraider

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I read a review for the first Blazblue and the review made it seem like 12 was a small size. So what is the average size roster for a fighting game?

BeachThunder

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 30

I'm not an expert on fighting games, but there's definitely a lot of fighting games with 20+ characters, so I suppose it would make sense saying that 12 is small.

bigsocrates

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Depends on the era. If you're talking all time then 12 is not so small because you'd have to include a lot of SNES/PS1 era games with 8 or so fighters (check out Ranking of Fighters for a lot of games with rosters in this range).

Modern fighting games generally have more, though. Killer Instinct launched with 6, but it was a very different model. I would say that these days most games have somewhere in the 20-25 range, but Street Fighter V didn't, so a smaller roster is definitely viable for a competitively balanced game.

crithon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 11

always use SF3 and SFAlpha 1 as an example of small rosters, hence why the sequels were such a leap in comparison.

TobbRobb

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

I'd probably say a good average for the purposes of reviews would be 16. Less is on the smaller side, more is over expectation. Though honestly, 16 feels somewhat small as well. I like games that hover more around 20ish just for that little extra bit of variaton.

Fredchuckdave

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

Somewhere between 20-25, factoring only modern games in probably a little closer to 30.

StarvingGamer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 25