#1 Edited by Earth001 (14 posts) -

So I am an avid gamer and I love gaming as well as movies or other media. But one thing that always bothered me was that there were still people out there that hated video games. When I started my college I thought gaming was a mainstream thing like movies. But apparently some people still hate them. There are a lot of older people at my college that look down on games and view them as bad. There are even a lot of people online who hate them to. Asking around I get responces like:

1. It's a waste of time

2. It's addictive

3. They're violent

4. They are not productive

5. Could be doing better things with your time etc.

All these points really bother me because none of these insults are directed at movies. If I were to tell people I was a film student I would get respect for what I do. If I tell people I am a game designer or a game tester I get people saying "get a life" and what not. So why do people still hate video games in this day and age.

#2 Posted by Kidavenger (3380 posts) -

1. People hate fat people

2. Video games make you fat

3. Gamers are fat

4. FAT

5. FAT!

#3 Edited by Strife777 (1431 posts) -

@kidavenger: YOU'RE FAT!

I don't know, it's just a stigma that people still latch on to for some reason. It's pretty irrational. It's still MUCH better than it used to be.

Also fuck these people.

#4 Edited by Milkman (16228 posts) -

Video games are terrible.

#5 Posted by MrGetBonus (781 posts) -

I'm an avid gamer too and I still kinda hate them.

#6 Posted by Video_Game_King (34603 posts) -
#7 Edited by FluxWaveZ (19155 posts) -

Too much sexism.

#8 Posted by Zevvion (1124 posts) -