• 93 results
Posted by patrickklepek (3468 posts) -

For someone who writes about games for a living, I don’t read much writing about them. The pieces that do filter into my free time get shared here, and are often far from traditional review and preview pieces. It’s not a slight against my colleagues, but a realization that I only have so much time, and that time should be spent with outside perspectives.

That’s why I’ve highlighted a piece from GQ about PAX East, that’s why I featured Chris Dahlen’s dive into Dark Souls, and that’s why you shouldn’t be surprised if most articles here aren’t from traditional sources. I can't play everything, and even when I do, I'm not an expert. I need others to those gaps, and help broaden my understanding.

8-4 Play is the only other gaming-related podcast that I regularly listen to, and while it’s nice that my friends are the hosts, my real interest comes from learning anything I can about the Japanese gaming market. The rest of my iPhone is filled up with podcasts about politics, economics, sports, and anywhere that’s telling interesting stories (see: Radiolab, This American Life). It’s nice whenever those places do a piece on games, but that’s not very often, and I think it’s important to listen to how reporters present stories on other subjects, and see if it it can inform my own.

If you’re curious, here are all the podcasts I’m currently listening to:

• Brainy Gamer
  • Chicago Football Talk
  • The B.S. Report
  • Idle Thumbs
  • Irrational Podcasts (Irrational Interviews/Irrational Behavior)
  • Mysterious Universe
  • New Yorker: Out Loud
  • New Yorker: The Political Scene
  • NPR: It’s All Politics
  • NPR: Planet Money
  • NPR: Snap Judgement
  • On the Media
  • The Rich Eisen Podcast
  • Slate’s Political Gabfest
  • Talk of the Nation
  • This American Life
  • WNYC’s Radiolab
  • 8-4 Play

Onward!

Hey, You Should Play This: