yeah... So im thinkin' of dropping out of college. advice???

• 111 results
blackbird415

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By blackbird415

so im in my first semester of college(seattle university) and its kicking my ass royally. I came to try computer sciences, but I found quickly that's not what I want to do, not im not sure on anything. I know college is supposed to be hard and I knew there were gonna be alot of papers and blah blah blah, but with my ADHD and learning disabilities its really taken an extra toll on me.  

If you think school is tough try having a particularly bad short term memory, the hand writing of a 4th grader (the notes on my pshyc. test for learning disabilities), a processing disorder (takes me longer to do assignments), and depression to boot... Its not like im dumb or anything I have an IQ of 130.

My depression has really kicked in too, im living in Seattle far away from any family or friends, Im finding it really hard to make friends, and im failing my classes now, even though ive dedicated mass amounts of time to work with no social life. Im not sure what the hell to do.  

Im thinking of leaving and just getting an A+ cert. and take a single class here or there on my own time. Maybe some graphic design or web design classes (im fairly proficient in the adobe suite)

Is there any advice or guidance anyone can give me? Can anyone help my situation out here? 

This might not be the best place to go for womthing like this, but it never hurts to try.

theWarren

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By theWarren

With the issues you describe, an analytical field probably isn't the best choice for you, especially if you don't enjoy on some level. 

You mention graphic design and web design, are you an artistic person?  Do you think of how you could make things better on existing sites you go to?  Are you interested in coding?  It might be something to look into.