You want to be a game developer? 3D & Game Programming Tutorials (deleted)

buckybit

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Edited By buckybit

deleted

turboman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 23

User Lists: 11

#2  Edited By turboman

I'll bump this up, cause I'm sure people are interested... I was going to major in Computer Science, but I've recently changed because I get no excitement out of coding like I thought I would.

incapacitated

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By incapacitated

Wow thanks for all the info...

McPaper

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By McPaper

I am a digital development student (not comp sci or specific to game dev in the slightest) and I think I understand the importance of programming for game development.

I am studying Java and Flash AS, flash is considered for light weight games (web) and Java I have yet to grasp the scope of the language entirely but  mastering it would also be getting a large foot hold in more 'game-devvy' languages like c++. Boosting the idea and core concepts of programming over all.

I found that the idea of programming is very similar throughout any language. I feel once you have something like c++ or java up your sleeve you can master them all as the ideas are pretty much the same. More importantly if you already know how to program, it is easier to develop games using associated SDKs, modtools even if they are associated specificly to themselves.

What's also interesting is that people who stick to just design still have some level of understanding programming, they may not be programmers but they understand enough princibles to work as a team with some who are.

What I am trying to say that is learning to program is pretty important if you want to develop games big or small, solo or a team.