SoCal Giant Bombers E3 Meetup 2011 (or SoCAGiBoE3MeUp 2011)

misclet

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By misclet

Help GB Community!

So as E3 approaches, the stress of making appointments and scheduling meetings start to build and maybe falter one's hopes for fun and video games. Well, there's a cure for that.  
Alcohol. 
Or other people. 
My name is Kenny and I have a proposal for this year's E3... 

LET'S MEET UP!

I'm a SoCal Giant Bomber and being a lazy journalist, I didn't send my press credentials on time this year. Even after two attempts in various E3 contests, my efforts proved fruitless. Broken but not beaten, I am still going to make the 40 minute drive to the convention center and do my best to cover E3 as the E3 LURKER. 
What I see E3 as is the opportunity to meet some of the coolest people and this is what I'm proposing. I think Giant Bomb doesn't give SoCal enough love since there is nothing really to come down here for, video game-wise, other than E3, and that's strictly business. Other opportunities for the Bomb Squad to meet the community are usually never in SoCal. I know E3 is a busy time and casual meetups are low priority, this is still worth a shot. 
So here's what I need help with... 

A Venue.

I've been thinking about this for a while now. I like bars. My knowledge of Downtown LA bars consist of Little Tokyo's Far Bar (my favorite), La Cita and Bar 107. All these bars are reasonably priced and the beer is good. One thing about bars though, not everyone is 21 and over, so any venues where all ages can go would be a helpful suggestion. Any other places or activities are more than welcome, especially if they are closer to the convention center. I was also thinking about maybe a Street Fighter Tourney at the Japan Arcade in the Little Tokyo Mall (I've spent quite some time in Little Tokyo as you can deduce). That might be cool too. 

A Time.