A Blog Thing That Is [Mostly] Not About Anime!

DocHaus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 11

Edited By DocHaus

Noticed that most of my blogs have been either about animu or that corny "Endure This! Run!" about The Last Remnant (still on indefinite hiatus, sorry @video_game_king), but I gotta put this all down somewhere, so here we are.

In Which I am an Official Game Designer

Back in January, me and a few wonderful people developed a game for the Global Game Jam (GGJ). 48 hours (including time set aside to sleep and eat) later, we had ourselves a puzzle game where you literally use your head to escape from an evil space dungeon, and we called it Ichabot Crane. You can play it here.

Can you escape the evil shiny space-glass dungeon?
Can you escape the evil shiny space-glass dungeon?

I contributed heavily with the level design, a paragraph of "story" that few people will bother reading, and otherwise provided moral support. Why bring this up now? Because we've gotten positive feedback, and now we're making tentative plans to expand the game into something worth selling.

It wasn't the first time I've gotten myself into designing games before. Heck, I even taught a summer class full of kids last year about how to make their own basic platforming game using GameMaker. But compared to my friend Taro and his vast knowledge of UNITY, I might as well have been a newbie. Still, we came together and made a working game in 48 hours, and we earned some ad revenue off the game, so we can technically call ourselves game developers now.

Also in the GGJ, we worked on a card game under the working title "The Game of Truth," about being the biggest troll while arguing on a fake internet forum. More news on that as it develops.