#1 Posted by TEHMAXXORZ (1199 posts) -

So as very few people know, I've been writing a 'novel' of sorts since around 2006 (around easter I think), but now I am stuck and I need help. Basically I have finished writing the story, I've read over it about six times and edited each read through. But I feel I haven't fleshed out the characters enough and I need to find a way to insert emotions into the story without sounding like it was never there in the first place (in short, awkward). I have read the blog(s) Through a Writer's eyes (will edit in the authors username) and I have found it is good advice, but it hasn't fully covered my predicament.

So, seeing as no other human being has even read this 'transcript' I need help adding character to the characters.

#2 Posted by Tim_the_Corsair (3065 posts) -

my advice would be to rewrite it.

That's going to sound shitty, but rewriting a scene (or even the whole book) works much better than trying to awkwardly jam additional stuff in destroys the continuity and flow of a scene very quickly. I recently ruined a novel sub by doing this myself, although mine was the folly of trying to hit a certain word count.

An author I know actually goes as far as printing two copies of his latest draft manuscript and then deleting the file so that he HAS to rewrite it. I don't go that far, but I do make it it point to print and then begin typing in a new document.

It allows you to inject new detail much more organically, and will also show you troublesome scenes you might have missed initially.

Good luck!

#3 Posted by pixieface (122 posts) -

Leave it alone for a while and let it stew in the back of your head. Don't feel pressured to publish as soon as possible or to make it absolutely perfect. Giving your work room to breathe can do wonders to rejuvenate your creative juices.