Am I right to defend myself in a toxic work environment?

Avatar image for physicalscience
physicalscience

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey guys I have a sort of long question here,

I am a 2nd Semester Junior at a University in northern NY majoring in Software Engineering. Last semester a professor of mine approached me and asked if I wanted to work for a company his wife owned that did small sub-contracts for the government. It was part time and hourly, so I obviously took it and started working over the winter break. Now I am a non-traditional student, I have a GED, a wife and a 20-month year old child who basically depend on me so the work and the pay was better than anything I had ever been offered. Through the winter we worked crazy hours but everything was going good and I was learning a lot, yet once the spring semester started things took a bit of a turn.

We started getting sort of bullied into working long hours on the weekend, our boss would straight up yell at and belittle other student workers in front of everyone, and classes would be canceled so students could work more. This all culminated in us going to work one day and at the end of the day we got told there wouldn't be work for a while, they had us give back our work laptops and clean out the office.

I had been offered another position at a different company for a summer internship and I decided I wanted to take that. Here is the only issue, my "current" job had me sign a non-compete and told me I was still employed even though I haven't worked a day in two weeks. I want to file for un-employment so I can get myself through these last five or six weeks until I can start my job. Only problem is I'm being threatened with the non-compete and being told I need to quit my current job before I take my new job or I get into trouble.