Posted by ikabubu (207 posts) -

I was thinking if there were any cardists in the GB community.

After some... significant events in my life, I decided to finally pursue cardistry back in February of this year. I'm still a complete amateur, but it's been a rewarding and humbling experience. Maybe, just maybe, I could also get people interested.

But for those of you who don't know what "cardistry" is, it's the art of flourishing playing cards.

What is Cardistry?

Keep in mind that, Andrei Jikh is left-handed. His deck dealing hand is his right, and his manipulator hand is his left.

Also, Andrei performs a magic trick called "Dress Code". WATCH HIS T-SHIRT!

Some of my favorite performances on the web.

Chris Hestnes performs the entire moveset of Dan&Dave.

The A-Z of Cardistry.

Downtown, featuring Zach Mueller, Dave Buck, Adam Kerchman, Tobias Levin, & Oliver Sogard.

The trailer of Aviv's SEQUENCE.

Finally, a charming video from Zach Mueller called SUPERHERO.

Lastly, how did you ever get started on cardistry?

I started with the Virts's Icarus Sequence.

Thanks for watching!

"Perfection may very well be impossible, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't be aiming for it."

-My Dad

#1 Posted by billymagnum (841 posts) -

thread should be titled "Any Magicians Here?"

Cardist sounds like a person who hates cards. discriminating based on suit, especially discrimination against jokers.

#2 Edited by Counterclockwork87 (743 posts) -

I'm a cardist. Fuckin' cards with their different suits. Go back to your country and get out of mine.

#3 Posted by ikabubu (207 posts) -

@billymagnum:

For starters, we're not magicians. It's the same as juggling or skateboard tricks. And yes, "cardist" sounds unfortunate, but it's seems to be the appropriate name (just see United Cardists).

#4 Edited by billymagnum (841 posts) -

thread should be titled "Any Magicians Here?"