• 53 results
#1 Edited by regularassmilk (1385 posts) -

I, Me, My

I'm an aspiring writer/musician/filmmaker but I spent a sizable chunk of time writing little short-form poetry for my blog, Soapbox/Shitbox. Some of its humorous, some serious, but it's what I do, and I want to see if the GB community is holding any other aspiring writers, or artists in any sense. Post your stuff, post links, post pictures of your third cousin! I'll post three of my poems below. Comments appreciated.

What I Could Have Said

I was walking through target

and me and my lady saw this lunchbox.

And I said

Your face is a lunchbox.

But What I Could Have Said, was

Your face is a lunchbox, because I put all my bologna in there.

Island.

I remember one time I was cleaning the house

it was an early winter evening,

where the sun gets mad at you and slams the door and drives to another mans house

for the day.

My father was lounging around in his underwear after work on the couch

watching tv.

He frustratedly points the remote like a broken wand and says

“I don’t have any batteries. I mine as well be on a fucking island.”

Stuck to the Floor

So there we stood, on different squares of the Earth.

One pregnant, crying in the middle of Best Buy

outside sit the tear-streaked dirt-ridden hood of the desert fox.

One unconscious, and occasionally drunkenly making phone calls to people.

Thick tears mix with spilled booze in dirty clothes

slept in for days.

The third standing not understanding, feeling responsible, violent,

with the sudden urge to start getting away,

with the pedal fighting for oxygen because it’s stuck to the floor.

Edit: Left this in the general discussion, shit. Sorry Mods.

#2 Edited by TentPole (1858 posts) -

I am a writer, but I am also someone who blocked off-topic posts so I would not have to sift through bad poetry about a stranger shoving his dick into his girlfriend's mouth.

Yet here I am.

#3 Posted by Kevin_Cogneto (1027 posts) -

@TentPole said: