Anyone ever use Ancestry.com?

BigLemon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By BigLemon

I've been thinking about getting a paid account on ancestry.com, and I was wondering if anyone here has ever used the service. I've been really interested in my genealogy and I thought that ancestry.com might be a good place to start. So, anyone had any experience with it? What's it like?

Kyreo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 9

#2  Edited By Kyreo

I heard it worked for a friend of mine.  I have a super obscure name and I doubt it will work for me but if you can afford it you should go for it.

digitalslice

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 4

#3  Edited By digitalslice

There is a LDS-run site: 
https://www.familysearch.org/  
For various controversial reasons, LDS members love to keep track of this. 

MikkaQ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By MikkaQ

My name wouldn't even work with Ancestry.com. Maybe if I found a French genealogy site, but I'm too lazy. 

FancySoapsMan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

#5  Edited By FancySoapsMan

I don't know, I probably use an internet service for something like this.

iam3green

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#6  Edited By iam3green

i never heard of that site. my mom looked around for genealogy stuff, she was successful. i'll have to ask her what website she used. i know she didn't use a paid site to find her stuff.  make stuff simple first ask parents, relatives of whom they are related to. 

my Italian last name is a rare one. one interesting thing though is that it's second most used last name in Sicily.

mrfizzy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 6

#7  Edited By mrfizzy

No, im my opinion its a scam as most of the databases they use you can access for free yourself if you look around. 

BigLemon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3