• 64 results
#1 Edited by TheDudeOfGaming (6078 posts) -

In particular the effect on stamina and your ability for exercise. I've been smoking a pack per day, in average, for the last six years or so. While I still feel fine, when I started walking up a little local mountain regularly it really starts to show, I've started doing this recently. I haven't paid particular attention to my fitness either, apart from your typical every day walking. Never thought I'd miss gym class. I'm not obese but I'm obviously not fit either. I'm around 1 meter 70-75 centimeters and I weigh around a 100 kilograms (I'm sorry too lazy to change it to feet/pounds) and I'm 19. Coupled with the occasional refreshing alcoholic beverage, well to be quite frank I'm actually kind of surprised that I'm able to go for as long as I can. The only healthy thing I've been doing is eating home cooked meals and changing soda for water.

So the question is are the effects of smoking reversible and to what extent? I'm not worried about how long I'll live or general health just stamina and being able to exercise for an hour or more without breathing like I had a panic attack. If I'm committed to it and do it every (other) day or so for at least an hour will I stop acting like an old fucking man?

Every answer and advice are very much appreciated. And yes I plan on quitting as soon as possible.

#3 Posted by Jimbo (9809 posts) -

It's possible to smoke and be fit, but obviously you'll find it a lot easier if you give up / cut down on your smoking.