Can you recommend some games for old PC?

Avatar image for andreigradinaru
AndreiGradinaru

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I am building an old computer for fun. I was a console gamer in my youth, and while I have been playing PC games for many years, I missed on the PC games of late 90s and early 2000s.

I also like collecting old consoles so I will now build an old machine. The system I have in mind is:

Pentium 4 1.7 Ghz

256 MB DDR RAM

Geforce 2 GTS 32 MB

Win 98 SE

I initially wanted to build it with a Pentium 3 1 Ghz, but couldnt find any easily where I live, so I decided to go with the pentium 4. This is the early pentium 4 generation, with this particular CPU being released in April of 2001, so not far off from what I wanted to build.

I will buy most games from GOG and also some discs ( Unreal Tournament and Quake 3 which also seem to have servers up even in 2014). The GOG installer doesnt work in WIN 98, but if I install them on a stick using my Windows 7 machine, I can then run them in WIN 98. Although I may need to crack some, I dont know yet. The GOG forums say it will usually work.

These are the games I have my eyes on, and please tell me any good or decent ones that I am missing. I am looking for games between 1998 - 2002.

Unreal Tournament, Quake 3, Serious Sam First and Second Encounter, Unreal Gold, Giants: Citizen Kabuto, Red Alert 3, Return to Castle Wolfenstein, Stronghold, Thief Gold, Aliens vs Predator Classic 2000, Red Faction, Max Payne, Soldier of Fortune.

Any other recommandations?

Immortal_Guy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Half life was 1997 - that's a pretty famous one, and I'd say it hold up alright today (I enjoyed the genuine original a lot more than half-life source, anyway). Also, it's in a different genre than your other choices, but Diablo II was fantastic.

Christoffer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By Christoffer