gearhead

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 7

#1  Edited By gearhead

Hey Guys
I'm a senior in highschool living in Connecticut. I will soon graduate, but the problem of a college has arisen. My major is journalism, and applied to three schools: Quinnipiac University, Northeastern and UConn. I got accepted to both Quinnipiac and Northeastern, but got wait listed from UConn. I loved both Quinnipiac and Northeastern and got scholarships for around fifteen thousand dollars from each. UConn was my primary school, the place that I hoped that I got into because it was affordable and a great school. My family just informed me that they cannot in good conscious let me got to either Quinnipiac or Northeastern as they are too expensive. I could rack up large amounts of loans exceeding well over a hundred and fifty thousand dollars--not including the ten years of interest that will accrue as I go through school and begin to pay them off--but my parents would have to cosign, which they have already said they won't. UConn's wait list is largely from a housing issue, and the possibility of me getting in from it is slim, at best. Instead they have offered to let me into one of their regional campuses, but I would have to commute and attend it for two years before I can go to the main campus. When I toured to regional campus I hated it and the idea of staying two more years at home scares me. I'm afraid I'm going to have no friends while I commute.
So, what should I do? Attending one of the other schools for a year and transferring out does not seem like an option, as I have no guarantee that I will get accepted, while racking up over forty thousand dollars of debt in a year alone. Also, if I do go to the regional campus, will I find friends? At the same time, how do I get an internship at a local newspaper or radio station on my own?

Thanks for help and sorry for the long windiness.

teh_pwnzorer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0