creating a site

This topic is locked from further discussion.

laserguy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By laserguy

I am going to build a site, like everyone else, i have some questions. I dont want to build for money, its for me, I guess a private thing, if people look its fine but really I want my own space.

i have some questions.

I own as a site name my gamertag. Does Microsoft own the gamertag by default? If I setup the site I assume they wont notice until it starts making money, which will never happen.

Is Mezzanine good for me? I have no experience doing this.

Bootstrap?

Wix?

Im looking at things but Im a bit overwhelmed.

Squarespace?

It costs do I want to commit money?

Anything I forgot? Content management system? Bluehost.com, joomla, wordpress, drupal.

How do I do this?

chaser324

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 15

#2 chaser324  Moderator

I'm having a hard time understanding some of that, but I'll just mention a few things.

Microsoft doesn't have any ownership over your Xbox Live Gamertag - it's just your username. You're free to use it however you want.

Also, you mention things like Mezzanine, Bootstrap (I assume you're referring to Twitter Bootstrap), and Wix as if they're alternatives to each other, but those are all very different things. You have a ton of options for building a website, but before you can make a decision, you really need to have a clear idea about what your site is going to do, how deep you're willing to go on the technical side, and how much time and money you're interested in investing in the venture.

Kidavenger

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 90

User Lists: 33

I'd start with tumblr

chaser324

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 chaser324  Moderator

I'd start with tumblr