#1 Posted by Bucketdeth (8024 posts) -

So I'm a huge noob when it comes to anything technical with money/banks/cards, but I'm looking for a simple credit card and I know these usually come with a ton of hidden fees and interest, but is there such a thing like debit card but I could use it to order products online?
Like instead of getting a card where I have to pay off the money I owe, I want something I can put my money in and when I order something it takes the money out that is in it.

If this is to confusing I will reword it :P SO all in all, I want a simple card for ordering products and buying a few games and a mmo subscription online, so if you guys can help me with that I would appriciate it, thank you!

#2 Posted by MasterOfPenguins_Zell (2093 posts) -

I can order things just find online with my debit card, but apparently the Canadians can't.

I don't have a credit card myself though. =/

#3 Posted by emkeighcameron (1876 posts) -

Isn't what you want just called a "debit card"? Sometimes referred  to as "checking cards", or "check cards", or "bank cards" as well, but "debit card" is the typical designation.

If you have a bank account with any major bank you should be able to get a debit card set up in no time. Make sure you request a so-called "on-line" debit card, because NOT ALL debit cards are permissible as payment on the internet.

And just to clarify, yes, debit cards are the ones which "immediately" take the money out of your account to pay for whatever you purchased.

#4 Posted by Agnogenic_delete (1034 posts) -

Sounds like what us Americans call a debit card. Is it the same in Canada? I'm tired...

#5 Posted by Bucketdeth (8024 posts) -

Whoa shit, I didn't know you could get a debit card that you can use online, I'll call my bank tommorow.

Haha, thanks a lot guys!

#6 Edited by choffy21 (1376 posts) -
@Bucketdeth: Just make sure the debit card is a VIsa. If it isn't, you won't be able to use it online.