Posted by I_Stay_Puft (3440 posts) 1 year, 4 months ago

Poll: Do you change your car's oil or do you have someone else do it? (49 votes)

Yes 47%
No 53%

I'm completely car illiterate and maybe for just the driving part I know nothing about cars. For me I usually just bring it to the shop and let other people who know what they are doing do what they do. Over the past year due to money constraints I've become more conscious of how I spend my money, so I thought I'd start doing things myself. Like a "Rorie" I decided to change my oil on my own and I gotta say while its no means easy (for me anyways) I felt accomplished when I got it done and saved some extra cash on the side.

#1 Posted by SgtSphynx (1404 posts) -

That is not a yes or no question, but to answer you, it depends on how lazy I am feeling. I work on cars for a living, and as such do oil changes quite often on other peoples vehicles, sometimes I don't want to go under my car to do the oil change and will take it to work to get it done. Other times I will do it myself.

#2 Posted by Oscar__Explosion (2323 posts) -

I go to a place

#3 Edited by Marcsman (3209 posts) -

I go to my mechanic.

#4 Posted by Killroycantkill (1408 posts) -

I've been told that my insurance won't let me change it by myself and I have to take it to a mechanic. If it wasn't for that, I'd just do it myself.

#5 Edited by ChrisTaran (1621 posts) -

Is it yes that I change my own oil or yes that I have someone else do it? Not a well worded set of options. I picked 'no' though.

#6 Posted by crusader8463 (14422 posts) -

My dad does all my vehicle maintenance for me. I just never think of it and he's a car guy so he remembers for me and does it. He has this habit of just doing it and then telling me about it a few days later. I appreciate it, but at the same time I wish he would just tell me it's that time again and showed me how to do it myself. It's better to learn this stuff since he's not always going to be there to do it.