Does anyone use a windows phone ?

ravensword

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

Right now I have a iphone 5S, but I'm thinking of using a windows phone. I'm using my friends old lumia 920, but app selection is abut if a sticking point maybe.

Anyone else using one and can offer their take on it after some time using it? Is it worth getting or switching to?

Hyuzen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

I've had an HTC 8S since last February, it's a pretty low end phone, the 920 is probably much better. I think nokia has a couple newer versions of phones out already. I chose it originally because I was a poor university student and couldn't afford an iPhone or high end Android phone, but didn't want to buy an older version of those phones. The 8S was less than a year old at that point so I figured I'd get longer support from it than if I bought some random Samsung phone.

Windows Phone 8 has definitely gotten much better since I got my phone a year ago. It feels like I can do what you should be able to do on a phone. I really like the 'Me' page because it lets me send a message to facebook and twitter at the same time, and it pulls in notifications from both those services into one feed. No clue if android or iOS can do that though. I like the home screen setup, I think it looks pretty cool and probably my favourite home screen on a mobile device.

In terms of apps: the twitter app is great, I think GPS navigation works well, there's vine, instagram, and the like if you're into that stuff. If you have a hotmail/outlook address already then it'll sync photos and notes and I think maybe even texts to SkyDrive/OneDrive. It of course doesn't have near the selection as android or iOS does. I have a Nexus 7 for android stuff, but I don't feel left out if I don't have the latest app available on my device.