#1 Posted by Brewmaster_Andy (524 posts) -

I am an English teacher, and as such I use a lot of class time writing. I find that my students are able to work more consistently when there is some sort of background music other than the deafening silence of twenty teenagers writing. I have taken to playing film scores during class time and the kids really enjoy it. They say that it helps them concentrate and I am certainly not opposed to anything that will improve their work effort.

To this end, what are your favorite film scores? Not soundtracks, mind you - instrumental scores only.

I am currently in love with the soundtrack to HBO's The Pacific, which has been on repeat in my room quite often. It's a great companion piece to the Band of Brothers score.

So, GB community - what are your favorite film scores?

#2 Posted by dopplerganger (82 posts) -

The scores Nick Cave and Warren Ellis did are great. The Road, the Proposition and the Assassination of Jesse James.

#3 Posted by Doctorchimp (4055 posts) -

In recent memory you have to say Drive.

All time? Vertigo. Or at least that one song in the beginning.

#4 Edited by GunstarRed (5478 posts) -

First Blood part II by Jerry Goldsmith. Back to the Future by Alan Silvestri. Film scores have always been a massive part about why I like films.

Oh man, how could I not mention anything John Carpenter. Escape from NY is awesome!

#5 Edited by believer258 (12207 posts) -

Last of the Mohicans, I guess. I can't say that's my favorite but for some reason that's the first thing that comes to mind.

EDIT: Also John Williams. Anything. Star Wars soundtrack, anything. And the Pirates of the Carribean soundtrack. I don't know if he did that or not but the Pirates soundtrack is pretty good.

EDIT 2: And the Skyrim soundtrack, if you don't mind playing video game music.

#6 Posted by Video_Game_King (36272 posts) -

Why not play some video game music? Or are you afraid that this would be too awesome for the kids?