Good C++ Tutorial Recommendations?

Mendelson9

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

Can anyone recommend a good C++ tutorial, preferably video? In my class we are using Visual Studio, making command line programs that can read in numbers and then order them in arrays, find the max, average, that kind of stuff. I've never written code before this class and after a couple weeks, I have still not been able to make anything besides really basic stuff. i.e Hello World.

Any help would be appreciated. I feel like i'm not learning anything in class.

EXTomar

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

This isn't necessarily a C++ issue but an algorithm problem. Is the teacher talking about what containers or patterns are best for ordering or calculations? Also are you forced to Visual Studio because for a task that tool doesn't quite fit.

Ben_H

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3  Edited By Ben_H

I used this before I started my comp sci classes so I would be at least a bit familiar with the concepts. He is pretty good at explaining things. His tutorials should be able to help you with that question.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvC1WCdV1XU&list=ECAE85DE8440AA6B83

Also, I echo the sentiments of EXTomar, is Visual Studio mandatory? That seems really unnecessary for the question you are doing. We were told specifically not to use it for my classes this year. Code::Blocks, QT Creator, or Eclipse would be much easier to use for that type of work (I would recommend the first two over the last one I listed, that one can be a bit of a pain to install because you have to install a bunch of other stuff and can be finicky. The first two set everything up automatically).

Skytylz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6

PerryVandell

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 8

#5  Edited By PerryVandell
Mendelson9

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers