Good unlocked Android GSM phone in the $150-$300 range?

MillaJ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By MillaJ

I've held out against getting my own phone for as long as I could, but then I found Ting. I like the looks of their service, and they now do GSM (which, from what I can tell by the coverage maps, gets better coverage in my area), so I suppose I'm on the lookout for an unlocked GSM-capable smartphone. I would prefer to find a decent android-based phone in the $150-$300 range, but I can be a little flexible with the price. I have no real knowledge or experience with this stuff, so I was hoping someone here might provide some helpful guidance or recommendations.

Thanks!

zidd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 24

The Oneplus One is $249 and the Moto G is around $180 depending on the color you want. They are a great value for what you pay. The Oneplus One can also be purchased without jumping through hoops although both have been available for quite a while.

You may want to look at buying a used device through a marketplace like Ebay or Swappa.

dprotp

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I can vouch for Swappa. I got an HTC One V through there two years ago and gave it to my former girlfriend once I got a Galaxy S3 a year ago. It's a great site!

I bought a replacement S3 for a different provider (MetroPCS instead of Virgin Mobile) back in early January. Turned out that Metro no longer supported that phone since they switched from CDMA to GSM, but the seller claimed that the phone worked fine. I ended up filing a claim on PayPal after the seller insisted that the phone was fine more than once.

Got a full refund (and didn't have to return the phone!) within two days.

Swappa definitely seems like the best place to buy secondhand phones.

RazorRamen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers