#1 Posted by Jnal (213 posts) -

So I got a job offer and have am having a really hard time deciding on wither to take it or not. On paper it beats the job I currently have now because of the benefits it comes with. (I currently am part time manager with no benefits but I'm working full time hours at my retail job. the money isn't that much more than I'm making now and I really like the people I work with and feel like if I leave I'd be screwing them over as I'm friends with just about everyone at all three stores in the area. I know that isn't the best way to look at it, but I for some reason can't help but think about it like that. The new job is an inventory clerk position with a telecommunications company where I would work by myself and see my boss every couple of weeks and have at least a weekly phone call with him as he is based out of the home office which is several hours away. I'm really nervous about it as I've never done anything like that before. Its on the job training and its by myself all the time but I don't think they will just throw me in to it without having someone show me the ropes first. So I look to you community to help me make my decision. Its my decision and mine alone and this is probably a terrible idea to take this to the internet but here we are.

Here is a link to the list of benefits that I would be eligible for if I accepted.

https://www.shentel.com/careers/benefit_information

#2 Edited by Chaser324 (6328 posts) -

If you currently have no benefits, take the new job. I know it sucks to leave behind people that you like working with, but you really can't allow that to force your hand here.

Moderator Online
#3 Edited by csl316 (8141 posts) -

^ yep

#4 Posted by arg3n7um (65 posts) -

It's great that you are thinking of your current coworkers, but you have to look out for yourself first.

#5 Posted by brutushayesosu (112 posts) -

I'd get out of retail.

#7 Edited by I_Stay_Puft (3038 posts) -