#1 Posted by LordXavierBritish (6320 posts) -

So to make a long story short, my fucking laptop is bricked and I'm pretty sure I'm going to have to buy a new one. I've got zero experience when it comes to buying a laptop because the last time I had to do this the school I was looking at required students to have a MacBook. What's that shit right? But that isn't the fucking point, the fucking point is now this piece of shit is now just a tropical paperweight with a depressing color scheme.

I don't even know where to start with this shit, all I know is that when people have problems they go onto internet forums and post about them, so that's what I'm going to do.

I'm not looking anything fancy, I just want something that can be a computer and run games not horribly without draining my bank account. Any help would be appreciated, and perhaps you will be rewarded some day. I'm not going to guarantee a prize, but maybe that hope is enough of a reward in these troubled times.

Also I really want to play Rogue Legacy and I fucking can't, so there's that.

#2 Posted by jimmy_p (278 posts) -

There is no such thing as bricking a computer/laptop.

#3 Edited by timlump (152 posts) -

Integrated graphics have gotten pretty good in the last few years.

You should be able to get a half decent laptop for around 500 these days. Just make sure it has at least an i3 processor or an i5 if you can get it, an i7 processor would probably only be in the next level of computer.

Avoid Toshiba though, WiFi cards in them seem a bit dodgy.

#4 Edited by CreepingDeath0 (176 posts) -

"I'm not looking anything fancy" "...run games not horribly" What kind of games do you want to not run horribly? If you mean something like BF3 then you're looking of a minimum spend of around £500 or £600. If you mainly plan to play small indie games you could probably knock £200 or £300 off that price.

Do you have any kind of budget?