#1 Posted by SunBroZak (1117 posts) -

For a while now I have wanted to work in the video-game industry, and I hope to create my own game someday in the future. While I'm currently studying Graphic Design and I intend on finding my way into the industry to through the means of a position in art, I see great value in the ability to write and create compelling narratives in video-games and ultimately that is something I want to tackle once I've found my way into the scene. And with that said...I'm not a very good writer. I think my spelling and punctuation are competent, but I feel I lack what it takes to write a complex and meaningful story that is it's own thing, and is not heavily borrowing from someone else's work.

Spending some time on this forum, I have seen some members of this community that appear to be very capable with their writing. So if I may, I'd like to ask for some advice as to what is the best way to improve one's writing skills. Should I be spending as much time as I can reading books? Should I be learning as much as I can about current, real-life issues so I can provide commentary on them in my story-telling? Or maybe it's simply a talent thing, and writing might not be what I'm cut out for. In any case, opinions of any kind would be appreciated.

#2 Posted by OneKillWonder_ (1749 posts) -