Inactive GB Accounts

THE_END

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By THE_END

How long can someone have an inactive Giant Bomb account before it is deleted?

I'm just wondering because I notice that this person last logged in more than 1 year ago:  http://www.giantbomb.com/profile/ej902/

I'm sure there are alot more that are similar (or even went longer without logging in) but doesn't this waste space and slightly degrade the amount of website space available?

We need to purge the crap out of this website so we have more room for more cool stuff like Quick Looks and cool videos that take up alot of space.  Just saying.......

MattyFTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 11

#2  Edited By MattyFTM  Moderator

Accounts are not deleted because of inactivity. And while I'm no expert on these things, I don't think user accounts take up too much server space. I'm sure if/when it becomes an issue, the staffers will take the appropriate action, but there is really no need to worry about it.

Xeiphyer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 8

#3  Edited By Xeiphyer

I imagine theres a few thousand inactive accounts out there, but theres no way that takes up very much server space, especially when you consider the size of all the video for the endurance run. Its just not comparable, so I wouldn't worry about it much.

Avatar image for addictedtopinescent
addictedtopinescent

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

Inactive user pimp our user count 
so, keep them

eroticfishcake

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 6

#5  Edited By eroticfishcake

Although I understand your sentiment, getting space is pretty cheap nowadays.

Pie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 7

#6  Edited By Pie

Doesnt having more accounts on website mean  more money from ads and so forth? (good thing)

citizenkane

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers