#1 Posted by Soviut (164 posts) -

Lately I've been getting really fed up with the people misusing the word "amazing". They're using it as a catch-all to mean "very good" when really it means "surprise at something being better than expected". How low are the standards of these people in order for everything to be amazing?

So I did something about it. I created a simple site that suggests alternatives to "amazing" in the context most people are misusing it in. I called it:

http://www.insteadofamazing.com

Be sure to share it with the social links. This going viral can only help to educate.

In case anyone is wondering, I'm a designer/developer, so I know how important grammar and syntax can be. I built the site using Flask (a Python micro-framework), and LESS.js as a CSS pre-processor. It took me about 5 hours of work to design, develop, write the HTML/CSS, set up the domain, social links and analytics.

#2 Posted by AlisterCat (5470 posts) -

Love the design of the site. Not particularly fussed about the misuse of the word amazing, but still enjoyed it.

#3 Posted by ShaggE (6301 posts) -

This site is awe-inspiring, awesome, spectacular, astounding, astonishing, confounding, breathtaking, extraordinary, dazzling, fabulous, eye-opening, miraculous, mind-boggling, prodigious, overwhelming, remarkable, startling, staggering, stupendous, stunning, surprising, wondrous, and wonderful.

Should mention that this is already a site, although it's not as detailed as yours: http://www.synonymsforamazing.net/

#4 Posted by Zacagawea (1577 posts) -
#5 Posted by McGhee (6094 posts) -

Actually, after checking a couple dictionaries, "amazing" simply means sudden astonishment or wonder. It doesn't have to be "something being better than expected".

#6 Posted by sub_o (811 posts) -

I think it's mostly because younger generations are using more superlatives than before.