Is there a game that teaches Piano?

how92

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By how92

So I don't post very often but are there any good video games that could help teach and practice piano? The wiki only has a couple older games for obsolete systems. I'm fairly new to the instrument and was hoping for a Mario teaches typing meets Rocksmith kind of game or program.

bicycleham

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2  Edited By bicycleham

Coming from a pianist of over 10 years, there really isn't a game that teaches piano as well as just buying a cheap keyboard and learning technical skills that way. Just keep practicing on a piano and you'll get there.

meteora3255

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 2

Rock Band 3 does a decent job of teaching some basics for the right hand but doesn't really get deep into technique or music theory or anything like that. Still if you just want to get your hand moving across a keyboard in a realistic way (especially on pro mode) it's a good start.

how92

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@xolare: what I was mostly thinking about was learning to read the notes faster

bicycleham

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@how92: Depending on your skill level you'd want to get used to reading sheet music and not the note graphs in Rock Band 3. I'd suggest buying the Alfred's series of books since there's a bunch of them at varying skill levels ranging from elementary to proficient piano players. You're never going to be able to quickly identify and play notes if you don't get it into your head which notes are where.

audioBusting

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 26

I don't really know if it's good for learning piano, but this reminds me of that guy who sort of had to learn piano to beat Miracle Piano Teaching System on the NES on his way to beat every NES game.

Castiel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14