Life after college?

• 58 results
AcidBrandon18

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

I'm 23, have a single semester of college left and am terrified of what awaits me after graduation. I majored in journalism, even though I dislike writing and am not very good at it. And all of my course requirement classes focused on print journalism. So now I'm trying to fix things with my New Media minor and am getting into video production. It is another thing I'm not very good at but I'm doing my best to turn my college time into something fruitful. My biggest worry is that I haven't made the most out of the time I've had at college. Sure I'll have a degree, but I feel as though I haven't really learned anything. I'm scared. I need some wise words from you duders.

EthanML

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By EthanML

Not to be harsh but, any particular reason you chose to invest in a degree in a subject you neither had passion for nor has excellent job prospects? =/

For what it's worth, I don't think it's at all rare to leave university/college feeling like you still know nothing and being scared shitless now you have to supposedly act like an 'adult'. People just figure it out, I guess.

In a lot of career paths the real learning definitely doesn't start until you get your foot in the door with a job (certainly the case in my field of programming). So I guess the best advice to give is make good use of your time; always be trying to acquire and improve on skills that will make you able to do whatever it is you want to do (once you know what that is :p).

csl316

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 10

You'll have a degree, so no matter what it'll show you have committment and drive.

Life after college is great. Just learn to appreciate whatever job you end up in, and get used to not staying late up doing homework.

AcidBrandon18

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@ethanml said: