Looking for some headphone advice

mwng

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey all, looking into buying some headphones for movies/music, and have a couple of questions if anyone would mind entertaining them, as I'm a total amateur when it comes to this stuff...

1. Basically, any suggestions? I have a fairly large budget (£200/$330 possibly more if you can convince me) and would like something that sounds like it reflects that audio quality wise. I wouldn't consider myself an audiophile, but at the same time, I've never really owned audio equipment that would allow me to be... I'd just like to experience the difference a decent pair of headphones can make.

2. Would I need a hifi system to actually take advantage of them? I have no idea how audio processing works... Would plugging the player into the TV, then outputting the TV audio via headphones produce the same effect as plugging the player into a hifi, then having the hifi output to the headphones? (I feel like this is a stupid question, but that's what the internet is for I guess!)

Thanks in advance!

Vamino

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Vamino

@mwng: My personal recommendation would be something like Sennheiser 595's. I've been using my pair for years, more or less all day every day, and they are still going strong. I think the 598's are the current version of it. The comfort is probably the most important thing to me though, I have to admit. To be able to wear them for hours on end and not have them pinch my ears or feel uncomfortable.

Edit: Should add, these are totally open headphones. No sound isolation or anything, so while I think the sound on them is pretty good (certainly better than whatever I had before), you should expect to be able to hear other people in the house or the like while wearing them. I kind of like that myself, because closed phones are the ones that tend to pinch me and get sweaty and uncomfortable more easily.