#1 Posted by Christoffer (1742 posts) -

I know I can't be the only one who find it relaxing to pick up the old guitar and strum away for an hour or so just for relaxation, recreation, or just to keep my fingers busy and nimble. I'm curious to know what you play. Off course it goes for any instrument, maybe you have one of those Pie-anos. You play songs, your own songs, random chords, scales, arpeggios etc?

I have a pretty weird list of stuff I do before I even try something new (mind you I'm a guitar beginner at best):

• Hammering an open A minor for a while, trying to cycle through chords that fits.
  • Blues scales that I'm pretty sure are completely wrong.
  • House of the rising sun.
  • Bisbee Blue by Calexico to which I try to sing badly. Laid back song.
  • Sometimes tries to play The Bare Necessities from the Junglebook, for some weird reason.
  • The last thing I play is hopefully something new I'm trying to learn, if i get that far.

I know I wont get far by playing the same things over and over. But as I said, it's just for some relaxation whenever I'm bored with everything else. (I will still try to play properly someday).

#2 Edited by ElixirBronze (415 posts) -

I like to play both the guitar and the piano... I'm not amazing or anything, but I like doing it for relaxation.

I tend to play some old stuff like (example songs in brackets):

The Beatles (basically the entire catalog),

Stones (Ruby Tuesday, Mother's little helper i.a.),

The Who (entire catalog),

Presley (Burning love, suspicious mind i.a.)...

The newer stuff I like to play is

Radiohead (Fake Plastic Trees, Creep, Let Down, No Surprises),

The Killers (When you were young, Human),

Oasis (Don't look back in anger, Wonderwall)

and the like.

#3 Edited by Ramone (2956 posts) -

I had about a 12 month period where whenever I picked up a guitar I would play the riff to Led Zeppelin. Now I tend to just jam out some Dinosaur Jr.

#4 Posted by OneKillWonder_ (1691 posts) -