Need some Advice on Job situation

Paindamnation

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By Paindamnation

So I haven't made any forum posts in awhile, been busy getting laid off. I just got offered two jobs, I'm an IT tech and one job is a call center for a school support company called Ellucian doing their tech support. The other is a job with Orange County Information Systems and Security, doing the Help Desk for my county. The first job when I got laid off, which was Tuesday before July 4th, was my only option. I put my resume out there and immediately got a call, passed the test and was done on Thursday. Monday comes around and another place calls me and wants me to interview tomorrow. Which is the same date as the other interview. So I go to both interviews, and the first one offers me the position, [These are both through IT staffing firms, competing ones at that). So I told the call center to hold till Monday because I have some stuff to take care of, so their expecting me Monday morning to fill the paper work for the job. Now the one I want more, the second one, called me back today saying I have the job. The kicker is the Orange County job I have to go through a drug test(clean) background(clean) and polygraph test all before I can accept the job. Their both contract jobs anyway, but when you work with the county it's how they do things. My question after all that information is, what do I tell the first job? Though I'm 99% sure I will pass all the hoops, shouldn't I have something to fall back on? The first job(Call center) starts on 23rd. The second (County job) starts once I pass all three tests. I was thinking of calling the first Staffing Firm and saying thank you for your consideration but I got offered a job where I can have more growth, but I have to pass a few tests to do it, but if I miss even one of them I don't get it. I don't want to burn any bridges but I've never had this problem of two competing jobs. I k