#1 Edited by nintendoeats (5975 posts) -

(Will there be more absurd challenges? I have no frigging idea)

In January I bought a really good condition 2001 Honda Civic. Then, while I was away at GDC last week, the transmission died.

Awesome.

So now I've borrowed some proper money from my parents and bought a 2006 Civic Hybrid. We all know what they look like, but I'll throw up a picture anyway (not of mine specifically).

There is a reason that Civics are the best-selling car in Canada: they are superbly practical vehicles. But holy shit does that make them boring. They're like the iPods of the car world.

I could deal with the 2001, because ti felt right. I'm a student, I have my shitty car, and the only thing that I've done with it is put in my own stereo and leave a lot of garbage lying around. And an acoustic guitar. That is how it should be.

But now I have a grown-up car. Ironically, it technically IS way cooler. I don't know if you know this, but hybrid technology is really neat. The problem is that civics are on the objective top 10 most boring cars list (I think that Sunfires are on the top, but since Pontiac doesn't exist anymore I guess I shouldn't be too hard on them). I mean, at least the Mazda3 has that neato 50s thing going on with the dashboard. Somebody at Honda was clearly watching an unhealthy amount of Star Trek, because the inside looks like a spaceship, and not the cool "used universe" kind.

When the MAZDA 3 OF ALL THINGS is cooler than your car...
You have some serious work to do

Anyway, I have decided that I need to do something about this. Now, I do have some limitations. Firstly, I'm pretty much broke. I just bought a car. Second, I may one day bequeath this vehicle unto my parents. So I can't...you know...light part of it on fire. They're pretty open minded, but anything that could be construed as "damaging" the car might go over poorly. So lets avoid that shall we?