Opinions about College Degree vs Certification

morkaithewolf

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 4

#1  Edited By morkaithewolf

So this is a topic I've been discussing with my fellow class mates for the past 2 years and my boss who is contemplating getting all the workers certified in our respective fields as a supplement to our degree.

A little back story is I suppose in need here:

I'm a graduating senior studying web programming (that means I work on the coding site of websites and applications in languages such as HTML, CSS, jQuery, Ajax, SQL and many others) and I've been having trouble to find someone willing to hiring me when I graduate. The reason alot of the people turn me down is of course experience (which I understand you need for any job market) but I've also been told by a few bigger companies they want people certified in the languages more than they want people who have a degree in that field of study. I'm curious to know if this is normal or is it just them trying to pull my leg and give me a reason to deny me? If it were simply my resume I could understand but I've done some big work for my school's site and structure and also any previous job I've worked at.

Maybe I'm over thinking it and just need to take a step back and look for someone hiring people straight out of college but it's kinda hard. I can't really look in my hometown (of Detroit, MI, USA) because alot of people have left so I've been broadening my search to other big cities such as Chicago, Dallas and Seattle. What is your opinion on this? Do you think it's more important to have a college degree in your profession or to have certification (which can be varied dependent on the study)?

VisariLoyalist

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

#2  Edited By VisariLoyalist