#1 Edited by crusader8463 (14429 posts) -

I'm looking into getting an apartment with someone in the near future, and had some general questions I thought some of the fine folks in the GB brain trust might be able to help me with. This is my first time since college, about 6 years ago, going out and looking for a place. So I'm a bit fuzzy on a few aspects. Back then the places I got were around $400 a month with utilities included. Every place I look for now has a minimum of around $600-$700 and utilities are never included since it's one of the more expensive places to live in the province.

Any who, here are the questions:

• A lot of these places ask for references, but as I don't really have any to give is there any suggestions for what I can give instead? Short of making stuff up and getting friends/family to lie, I'm not sure how I can get past this part. I'm a very quiet and clean person, but I'm certain that they won't just take me at my word.
  • Is there some way to look up what the utilities may cost in my area? I live on a very tight budget, and was wondering if anyone knew of some database somewhere that may have that sort of thing. I tried looking around google but all I could find where other forum threads of people talking about what they pay. Obviously it will vary from location to location, but even a general idea would be a good start. I'm in New Brunswick Canada Found a site right after posting this. As per the usual.

I guess that's about it. Feel free to give any other advice or share any of your past experiences with getting new places. Also, any advice with living with a room mate? This will be my first time so I'm sure that will be an experience too.

EDIT: Dam it all. Typo in the title. Grrr...

#2 Posted by The_Laughing_Man (13629 posts) -