#1 Posted by Funkydupe (3305 posts) -

I know the more high-end cards really need to stay cool, especially for those who like overclocking their cards. I'm wondering if any of you know about a card that is new and powerful but still doesn't produce as much relative fan noise even at higher stress levels. This is supposed to be a gift and I have zero knowledge on this specific aspect as I usually just accept fans as a part of the package when buying cards, but I know the one I'm getting it for prefers to keep the system relatively silent, using a water cooling system and so on instead of fans.

I've been thinking about getting a GTX680 or a Radeon7970, but then there's plenty of versions of every card as well, such as Gainward, Sapphire, XFX and ASUS.

I welcome any recommendations on this to help me pick something up.

Thanks a bunch!

#2 Edited by Declarius (180 posts) -

You can usually find these kinds of ratings on some hardware sites, but unless your GPU is running really hot the fan shouldn't be that loud. Usually if my GPU gets loud I know I should take a can of air to it.

Here are the noise ratings on those two cards.

#3 Posted by Laiv162560asse (487 posts) -

I've read that the Asus GTX680 Direct CUII is good for noise, although it is pretty huge and takes up something like 3 slots worth of space. Some noise comparisons here:

http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/39013-asus-geforce-gtx-680-directcu-ii-top/?page=12