Straight Razor Users?

ghost_cat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By ghost_cat

I've got some pretty thick facial hair, and it has come to a point where I'm just fed up with how crummy typical razors make up my overall shaving experience. I also think electric razors suck, so don't try to toss that sack my way. Anyways, I've been thinking of trying out straight razors, but I have no experience using them, so I'm asking: does anyone here use straight razors? Are they fun and relatively easy to use once you get the hang of them?

mikey87144

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

I've been using them for two months and honestly I wouldn't go back to any other method. It's smooth, gives me less irritation than the other methods and is significantly cheaper than the other methods. Watch a couple of youtube videos to see how to do it properly. Set aside some time to shave also as it takes more time than the others ways at first. After you get the hang of it it shouldn't take you long if you shave regularly. This is apparently one of the better razors and these are pretty good blades. Use shaving soap and a proper brush and you'll be good to go. Again search youtube for tips.

preheatedbibby

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 11

kingspeedy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By kingspeedy

Are you talking about straight (cutthroat Sweeney Todd style) or double-edged (the kind that you drop a razor blade in)?

I've been shaving with a double-edged razor for a few years now. I can count on one hand the number of times that I've cut myself, and I've saved a small fortune in blades. Whereas blades for something like a Gillette Fusion run around $4 each, the Feather blades that I use are less than $0.30. If you change blades once a week, you're looking at about $200 in your pocket every year. It definitely adds up.