#1 Posted by D_W (1196 posts) -

As the title says, I'm thinking about moving to the other side of the US. Currently I'm living in New Jersey with my father after moving back once I graduated college last year. I was talking with a friend who moved out to Seattle a couple years ago suggested I move out there as well. I've been looking into all day and am seriously considering it. 
What I want to know is have any of you fine folks moved across the country? What was your experience? Do you have any advice? Things that I should/should not do?

#2 Posted by bushpusherr (845 posts) -

I am actually moving from Kentucky to Seattle in about 2 weeks haha, it will be the first time I've ever lived out of the state of Kentucky. I'm going to graduate school though, so I kind of know what I'm getting into. I don't know how much I can offer in terms of advice, but I can at least say good luck!

#3 Posted by DragonBloodthirsty (470 posts) -

I've not moved that far away before, but I know people who have so I'll share what I learned from them. Moving that far, my big concerns would be "How am I going to be taken care of". Do you have a job yet? Is your friend looking for a room mate (who brings rent with them), or are you lucky enough to have a friend who is willing to support you while you look for work (estimated 4-6 months even if you take "anything I can get")? Make sure you work out the social details now so there's less fighting later; get your agreement in writing if you can (an email record will usually work fine if it comes to legal down the road).