#1 Posted by BrockNRolla (1702 posts) -

Hey duders. I'm taking a trip up to Quebec and Montreal come spring, so during the long, dark, cold winter that Chicago is bound to have year, I'd like to learn some French. I'm not aiming to be fluent or anything in 6 months time, but I would like to have a relative grasp on the way the language works, and at least a basic knowledge of important phrases to help me get around, order food, ect. I know that there are a lot of English speakers in that part of Canada as well, but I'd prefer to at least stick in part to the common tongue of the region if I can at all help it.

So, for any French learners or French speakers out there, what are some good resources for learning French? Mind you, I'm a law school student, so I'm not going to be enrolling in a French course or anything of the kind, but some resources to study in my free time would be great!

#2 Posted by Video_Game_King (36272 posts) -

Napoleon. It's the only game I know of that went directly from Japanese to French.

#3 Posted by ShockD (2401 posts) -

I can't really recommend anything, but all I have to say is that you're going to have a really hard hard time learning french without courses. Even with courses you're still going to need a decent amount of time to understand the basics. I'd say, get a simple phrasebook and the rest you'll learn when you get into the French environment. Good luck!

#4 Posted by BrockNRolla (1702 posts) -

@Video_Game_King: Interesting, but I think I lack the proper equipment for using Napoleon as a resource...

#5 Edited by Fear_the_Booboo (473 posts) -

I really don't know. Maybe watch some movies in French or English ones with French subtitles? That's how I've learned English basically. Just reading stuff won't help you if you have to talk to people. It seems a really hard thing to do without courses.

Aussi, amuse toi bien à Montréal! Je viens d'y revenir et c'est une ville plutôt sympathique.