Tweeted a Compliment and Got Blocked, Be Careful out There!

• 48 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

reisz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 6

#1  Edited By reisz

Pretty spun out about it, here's the scoop.

I'm an artist and this year one of my goals is to start having a presence online -as- an artist. One of the pillars of that is social networking right? So I've been using tumblr and started participating in twitter as well, one of the first things I wanted to do was show some appreciation to the people I follow, that's a grand total of 10 right now so I figured I'd write out something quick to the one of those I've most recently paid attention to. As it happens that resulted in the following:

Now I don't know if I tweeted wrong or it just doesn't read the way I meant it to, as a compliment, but when I checked twitter again this evening I was definitely blocked. Obviously I feel awful so I wanted to reach out and remind others to keep in mind what the climate is like out there for games writers right now. Because there's nothing worse than sincerely complimenting someone and it having the opposite effect on them.

I feel like the scum of the earth thinking that someone I admire has presumably lumped me in with the worst kind of degenerates in the games community.

I knew my damn Australian mouth would get me in trouble eventually. I think I'm going to drop the language in any future twitter musings. Just to be safe.

(If anyone has feedback on how that tweet might read to others I'd love to hear it, cheers!)

Oldirtybearon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

I wouldn't worry about it kid. Just remember to follow the golden rule; never meet your heroes.

Or interact with them on social media. Bad scene all around.

Avatar image for waltercrunkfite
WalterCrunkFite

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By WalterCrunkFite