Want to Start Getting into Photo Shop, any advice/tips?

nightriff

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 7

#1  Edited By nightriff

So I'm bored at work a lot and since I work nights (and kinda need a break from games at the moment too) I want to start getting into photo shop just as a hobby. Though I have NEVER done this stuff before and have no idea where to start. What programs are easiest to use? What ones are the best once I get the hang of it? Are there free ones or should I purchase one? I have access to a Mac and a PC, which should I use? Good ways of finding funny/interesting pictures of people (particularly GB staff)? Any tips and advice would be appreciated and hope to one day contribute to the Hamburger board with my work.

Avatar image for deactivated-5b8316ffae7ad
deactivated-5b8316ffae7ad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

What type of photoshop do you really want to get into? Photography? Art? Design? Or just plain ol' fun image manipulation. I'm going to guess that you're down for the last option - so you'll be using Adobe Photoshop CS6 - which there are a TON of photoshop tutorials to find on Youtube.

Youtube is an amazing learning source, seriously. My girlfriend is a graphic designer and the rare times she needs help with something, she usually Youtubes it.

nightriff

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3  Edited By nightriff

@Castermhief117: Yup fun image manipulation, first goal is to make a Persona 4 ER Box art feature Jeff and Vinny. If I get good at it then I will continue and may take it as a serious hobby but it is more of something to waste time on

BillyMethers

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#4  Edited By BillyMethers

If you want to get into anything in general and be decent at it, it's going to take time and dedication.