#1 Posted by Colt45 (54 posts) -

So I'm a budding web designer/developer, but I'm feeling a little schizophrenic. I keep bouncing from editor to editor, IDE to IDE, and I just can't seem to settle on any one environment. Just so you feel my pain, here's a list of programs I've worked with over the past three weeks:

• Aptana Studio 3 (a full-featured, albeit unwieldy IDE that's slow to load, but has one of the best predictive text interfaces I've found so far.)
  • Sublime Text 2 (came across this via Snide's recommendation during the re-design discussion...very aesthetically pleasing, but lacks some of the functionality I'm looking for.)
  • BBEdit (a better TextWrangler -- loads quickly, has a handy CSS "cheat sheet". It's a nice program, just not sure if it's for me.)
  • Espresso (has the best CSS editor I've ever seen, but it lacks in the auto-complete department, which slows me down a fair bit.)
  • JEdit (see my comment about Aptana, sans the awesome auto-complete.)

I think I'm forgetting a few. I've used TextMate in the past, but I'm not sure if I want to commit to that before the new version comes out.

Anyway, I'd like to know what other people are using. Do you have any recommendations? My wallet doesn't open very wide, so anything under $80 is preferable. Also, do you have any tips for someone new to coding? I'm pretty comfortable with HTML and CSS, and I'm building a pretty good efficiency with PHP -- still a little weak on the JavaScript front, though.

#2 Edited by VanillaPlant (145 posts) -

Notepad++ on windows, gedit on linux. If you are a masochistic neckbeard, learn emacs (or VI if suicidal).

#3 Posted by Brunchies (2484 posts) -

Notepadd++ on windows and for Mac osx textwrangler or Xcode.

#4 Posted by Dagbiker (6939 posts) -

Short Answer

Notepad.

Long Answer